The platform unifies societies and scientific bodies that are active in the field of geoscience. It acts as an interface between the various academic disciplines of geosciences as well as between research, practice, administration, politics and the public.more

Image: NASAmore

Prix Schläfli

The Prix Schläfli of the Swiss Academy of Sciences awards each year an outstanding Swiss PhD theses in the Natural Sciences. Established in 1866, it is one of the oldest prizes in Switzerland, .

The awarded domains are:

  • Geosciences
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Mathematics, Astronomy, Physics (rotating)

If you want to learn more about the Prix Schläfli former laureates and how/when to submit an application, please go to the official SCNAT webpage.

Below we present the Geoscientists who received the award these last years:

Julie Zähringer (Prix Schläfli 2019) unterwegs ins Studiendorf Navana mit einer Piroge

Julie Zähringer - Bringing the extremes together

There is a small moment of confusion in our conversation with Julie Zähringer, which says a lot about her research and its particular challenges. She explained that she had done

Image: Julie Zähringer
Prix Schläfli
Prix Schläfli