The members of the Swiss Forest Society (Schweizerischer Forstverein (SFV)) share their professional activity related to the forest ecosystem, either in the context of practice, research or teaching. Beside the forest engineers from Federal Institutes of Technology (ETH domain) and from universities of applied sciences (UAS) as well as the environmental scientists who obtained a Master in forest and landscape management, the SFS members are biologists, geographers, land planners, legal experts and civil engineers.

The SFS is committed to the conservation of the forest and its divers services, so that future generations will also be able to benefit from it. The commitment emphasizes the forest as an integral part of the landscape, as a producer of wood and other forest products, as a protection against natural dangers, and as a supplier for services such as biodiversity, recovery or drinking water.
The hot topics are discussed within working groups. The topics of these working groups are “vegetation and soil”, “forest and wild fauna” and “forest planning and management”. The forest society promotes the dialogue between members in order to exchange their experience, identify developments, solve problems in a global way and participate actively at the level of forest polity discussions. The SFS offers numerous events and excursions as well as the publication of the “Swiss Forest Journal”.

Year founded: 1843
Number of members: 783 (2017)
Schweizerischer Forstverein (SFV) is a member of SCNAT, Platform Geosciences

Den Mitgliedern des Schweizerischen Forstvereins (SFV) gemeinsam ist, dass sie sich in ihrer beruflichen Tätigkeit – sei es in der Praxis, der Forschung oder der Lehre – mit dem Ökosystem Wald befassen. Neben diplomierten Forstingenieurinnen und -ingenieuren ETH und FH sowie Umweltnaturwissenschaftlern ETH mit Major Wald- und Landschaftsmanagement gehören auch Biologinnen, Umweltnaturwissenschaftler, Geografinnen, Raumplaner, Juristinnen und Bauingenieure dem SFV an.

Der SFV setzt sich für die Erhaltung des Waldes mit all seinen Leistungen ein, damit auch künftige Generationen ihn vielfältig nutzen können. Das Engagement gilt dem Wald als Teil der Landschaft, als Produzent von Holz und anderen Waldprodukten, als Schutz vor Naturgefahren und als Lieferant von Wohlfahrtsleistungen wie Biodiversität, Erholung oder Trinkwasser.
Aktuelle Themen werden in Arbeitsgruppen bearbeitet. Die permanenten Arbeitsgruppen sind: «Vegetation und Boden», «Wald und Wildtiere» und «Waldplanung und -management». Der Forstverein pflegt den Dialog unter den Mitgliedern, um Erfahrungen auszutauschen, Entwicklungen zu erkennen, Probleme ganzheitlich zu lösen und sich waldpolitisch zu engagieren. Das Angebot des SFV umfasst zahlreiche Fachveranstaltungen und Exkursionen sowie die Schweizerische Zeitschrift für Forstwesen.

Gründungsjahr: 1843
Anzahl Mitglieder: 783 (2017)
Schweizerischer Forstverein (SFV) ist Mitglied der SCNAT, Plattform Geowissenschaften